Nominations Sought for Scholarships and Awards

ASTM Graduate Scholarships

ASTM is now accepting applications for graduate scholarships. The ASTM International Graduate Scholarship is presented each year to as many as four high potential graduate students, contingent on merit and available funds. The scholarship rewards graduate students who have demonstrated high levels of interest in or involvement with ASTM standards. Each scholarship recipient will receive $10,000 to be used for educational expenses. Applications are due April 30. For additional information, contact James Olshefsky (tel +1.610.832.9714) or visit the ASTM website

Katharine and Bryan Mather Scholarship

Applications are being accepted for the 2017 ASTM International Katharine and Bryant Mather Scholarship. Full-time undergraduate students completing their second/sophomore years of college (or later) and graduate students from any country are eligible to apply for the scholarship, which consists of up to $7,500 in tuition assistance. Students must be specializing in cement or concrete materials technology. Applications are due April 30. For additional Information, contact ASTM Committee C09 manager Scott Orthey (tel +1.610.832.9730) or visit the ASTM website

Project Grants

Recognizing that students sometimes need financial assistance in completing graduate or senior capstone design projects, ASTM annually offers a limited number of $500 grants to university students to help with projects that feature an ASTM component. Deadline for submitting project grant applications is Oct. 31. More information can be found at the ASTM website.

ASTM Professor of the Year Award

ASTM International has established the Professor of the Year award to recognize and reward the contributions of educators in developing students’ understanding of standards.

Candidates for the award include professors and instructors at an accredited university worldwide who have demonstrated outstanding use of ASTM standards in their teaching. 

Cash awards will be given to the winning educator and their respective university. Nominate your colleagues and department members for their exemplary use of ASTM standards in the classroom.

The Professor of the Year Award will be awarded every two years (in the odd numbered years).

August 31 is the deadline for submitting nominations for the 2017 Professor of the Year award. More information, including criteria, rules, and a nomination form can be found at the student member section of ASTM's website.

Issue Month
Issue Year